Planning to study medicine overseas? MOH cuts medical schools approved for practice in Singapore

If you’re planning to start medical school overseas in 2020, you’ll have to take note of the new list of medical schools that are approved for practice in Singapore. The roster of schools will shrink from 160 to 103 institutions from across 20 countries, including Australia, Canada, United Kingdom, and United States.

The 57 overseas schools are cut based on factors such as the international and national rankings and the performance of registered doctors from these universities. This is because there will be more locally-trained students in the market, jumping from 300 in 2010 to about 500 in 2018. By 2023, the local medical school intake will be fully realised.

If you’re a current student or have secured a place in these dropped schools before 1 Jan 2020, you won’t be affected. You can still be considered for medical registration with the SMC (Singapore Medical Council), provided you have a job offer from a healthcare institution upon graduation.

Here is the list of 57 schools (alphabetical by country) to be dropped by 2020:


  • School of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences, The Flinders University of South Australia
  • School of Medicine and Public Health, University of Newcastle
  • Faculty of Health Science, University of Tasmania


  • University of Innsbruck


  • Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Ottawa
  • Faculty of Medicine, Queen’s University
  • Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, University of Western Ontario
  • College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan
  • Faculté de Médecine, Université Laval
  • Faculté de Médecine, Université de Sherbrooke
  • Faculty of Medicine, Dalhousie University


  • Faculté de Médecine, Université Louis Pasteur (ULP) Strasbourg


  • Fachbereich Medizin, Johann Wolfgang Goethe‑Universität Frankfurt am Main


  • Armed Forces Medical College (AFMC), Pune
  • Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research (JIPMER), Puducherry
  • Lady Hardinge Medical College, New Delhi
  • Grant Medical College, Mumbai
  • St John’s Medical College, Bangalore
  • Madras Medical College, Chennai


  • Faculty of Medicine, National University of Ireland, University College Cork
  • Faculty of Medicine, National University of Ireland, University College Dublin
  • Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, National University of Ireland, Galway
  • School of Medicine, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (National University of Ireland)


  • Faculty of Medicine, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Sackler Faculty of Medicine, Tel Aviv University


  • Prima e Seconda Facoltà di Medicina e Chirurgia, Sapienza Università di Roma
  • Facoltà di Medicina e Chirurgia, Università degli Studi di Firenze


  • School of Medicine, Hokkaido University
  • School of Medicine (Tokyo), Keio University
  • Faculty of Medicine, Nagoya University
  • Faculty of Medicine (Fukuoka), Kyushu University
  • Tokyo Women’s Medical University


  • Det Medisinske Fakultet, Universitetet I Oslo


  • The Aga Khan University Medical College


  • Sun Yat-Sen College of Medical Science (Guangdong), Sun Yat-Sen University
  • Zhejiang University School of Medicine
  • School of Medicine, Wuhan University
  • The West China College of Medicine, Sichuan University


  • College of Medicine (Seoul), Korea University


  • Facultad de Medicina, Universidad Complutense de Madrid


  • Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo


  • Faculté de Médecine, Université de Lausanne (UNIL)


  • College of Medicine (Taoyuan), Chang Gung University


  • Faculty of Medicine and Medical Science, University of Aberdeen
  • College of Medicine and Health Sciences, The Queens University of Belfast
  • School of Medicine, University of Leeds
  • Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Medical School, University of St Andrews
  • College of Medicine, University of Wales (merged with Cardiff University)


  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical School at Dallas
  • Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
  • Roy J & Lucille A Carver College of Medicine at University of Iowa
  • School of Medicine, University of Alabama
  • School of Medicine, University of Virginia
  • School of Medicine, University of Colorado
  • School of Medicine and Dentistry, University of Rochester
  • Oregon Health and Science University School of Medicine

Check the revised list on SMC’s website.